Orange and brown hues adorn store aisles and a pop of green and red also.  ‘Tis the season for decorating, gift-giving, celebrating, and of course, seeing those people you rarely see during the rest of the year.  It’s the holiday season!  Personally, it is not only the most wonderful time of my year, but it is also the best time of the year for my family and I.  I am truly fortunate to share my holidays with the ones I love.  And while I am thankful for this time of the year’s celebratory nature, I also really want to make it count.

I want to bring my holiday happiness to others.  If that sounds highly unrealistic and euphoric to you, I understand.  But before you overlook my optimism, think about this:

This holiday season, some will not get to call it their “Best Time of the Year” because instead,  this time of the year is a reminder of their loneliness, homelessness, or even marginalization from enjoyment of society’s cheerful end of the year.

After thinking about this reality, I decided that I want to make my holidays meaningful by giving back.  One of my endeavors includes collecting toiletries with classmates to donate to a local homeless shelter.  Another includes helping my family raise funds for hurricane victims.  I do not consider myself a saint for doing so.  I think that when one witnesses pain and suffering, there must be some inner goodness within that person, enabling him/her to react against it– in any way possible.

So with this wonderful time of the year approaching so soon, I hope that you enjoy your time and find ways that you can MAKE IT COUNT 🙂

Photo courtesy of https://pixabay.com/p-1486062/?no_redirect
One thought on “Motivational Monday: Make it Count

Leave a Reply

